OK, so I am attemping to tackle the great outdoors.  I must say gardening and outdoor decorating is quite the challenge for me.  I decided to tackle my boring deck first.  The space is HUGE, but has little to be desired right now.
First step, paint.  I painted the wall yellow, which was VERY scary!!!  I was going to serve it as an accent wall.  I plan to use the same color at the front entry way.  Then I took wine bottle and filled them with irange accent plants and hung them on the wall with hook,  I covered the hooks with yarn.
The I added 3 door mirrors to give it more of a reflective look.  I painted the middle one to add a splash of color.
So here is the start of my deck outdoor living space.  I will keep you posted on the new developments!

Rug Restoration

I had a huge rug that was all sorts of stained.  I decided to stain the rug and use it as an outdoor rug.  I taped the rug off in 12 x 12 squares.  Then I took dark walnut stain and rolled it.  Then I took ebony stain and used a brush to dab on a little bit of black on each square.  Remove the tape and you have a chicly cheap outdoor rug.

Furniture Restoration

I found this beautiful outdoor furniture that was very worn. So I decided to take it and restore it.  With a little bit of sanding and staining you have a whole new outdoor living set!  Check out my chicly cheap outdoor furniture!

Stain with Style

My next idea I think is going to have to wait till next spring.  Thought I would share my thoughts with you.  My deck is slowly but surely coming along.  The deck still is in desperate need of restaining.  I figured since I need to stain anyway may as well add some style to it.  So every about 5th board I am going to stain black.  And make a horizontal black line every about 5 feets.  Where the two lines intersect I am going to make a diamond shape.  Keep you posted.  Probably wont do it till next spring since it is starting to get cold. 

Comments are closed.